Skip to main content

News from our national partners

The latest in Fire, EMS, Police & Security

News & Events

Department_of_Justice_Announces_Third_Annual_Attorney _General’s_Award_for_Distinguished_Service_in_Policing

COPS Logo 508

Department of Justice Announces Third Annual Attorney General's Award for Distinguished Service in Policing

On May 20, 2019, Attorney General William P. Barr announced the third annual Attorney General’s Award for Distinguished Service in Policing.  The Attorney General’s Award, to be administered by the COPS Office, recognizes individual state, local or tribal sworn, rank-and-file police officers, deputies and troopers for exceptional efforts in community policing.  The awarded officer(s), deputy(ies) or troopers will have demonstrated active engagement with the community in one of three areas: criminal investigations, field operations, or innovations in policing.
Within each category, an award will be given to law enforcement agencies serving small, medium, and large jurisdictions:
  • Small: Agencies serving populations of fewer than 50,000
  • Medium: Agencies serving populations of 50,000 to 250,000
  • Large: Agencies serving populations of more than 250,000
By distinguishing and rewarding these efforts, the Department strives to promote and sustain its national commitment to policing and to advance proactive policing practices that are fair and effective.
With the Attorney General’s Award for Distinguished Service in Policing, the Office of the Attorney General recognizes that the nation’s more than 18,000 law enforcement agencies, individual officers, deputies, and troopers are working hard to keep our communities safe.
The application for nominees can be found at: